Home > Funk, Pop > Crazy covers : Physical gets revamped by Goldfrapp & The Glimmers

Crazy covers : Physical gets revamped by Goldfrapp & The Glimmers

 

goldfrapp3

Olivia Newton-John is a British-born, Australian-raised singer and actress better known for her role in the movie Grease. Physical was a number one song in 1981 : it is also hailed as somewhat sexually controversial. I was never a fan of her music, but she was covered by a lot of different versions of this song as the years went on : synthpop group Queen of Japan, Goldfrapp (Alisson Goldfrapp on the left ) and most recently, as of 2008, by the disco band The Glimmers. I have a hard time deciding which of the latter versions I prefer the most : Goldfrapp sensual version or Glimmers raw funky disco-punk take on Olivia ? For me, The Glimmers version of Physical is quite simply one of the best cover I have heard in years. The kind of song I would love to hear in a discotheque. The Belgian duo have gotten me singing :

“I’m saying all the things that I know you’ll like
Making good conversation
I gotta handle you just right
You know what I mean
I took you to an intimate restaurant
Then to a suggestive movie
There’s nothing left to talk about
Unless it’s horizontally
Let’s get physical, physical, I wanna get physical, Let me hear your body talk, your body talk.”

The Glimmers – Physical [Eskimo : 2008]

Goldfrapp – U.K. Girls (Physical) [ Mute : 2001 ]

Categories: Funk, Pop
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

