Home > Ambient, Electronica, Monday chilled track > Monday morning chilled track : ISHQ means psychill

Monday morning chilled track : ISHQ means psychill

ISHQ are Matt Hillier and Jacqueline Kersley. Based in Cornwall UK, they’ve been making music since 1995 with skirts between Idm electronica, deep ambience and even has some newage overtones. The emphasis seems to be on music as harmony. Ishq means “love” in Persian and Hindi, or is a word used by such past masters as Rumi to express love of the divine and the ecstatic love of the Sufi, or lover of God and all God’s creation. They have released a gorgeous track called Sol in 2001 on The Vancouver label Interchill which releases their more experimental soundscape music and other studio works.  Ishq takes you to the most beautiful places you can imagine with this deep, hypnotic but still very sunny album. The music is spacy, but still very “earthly” with all the nature-samples : The nearly10 minute opener seductively write in a Skyblue atmosphere of shuffling beats, grooving basslines and cloudsailing synths. A subtly evolving soundscape which glistens with delicate accents and various unseen entities,  birdsong and bells fading into an ongoing progession of smooth drones and deep musicality.

ISHQ – Sol (2001 : Interchill – On floatation compilation)

  1. Poukoipa
    November 19, 2009 at 4:53 am

    Hi Jeff! You know I’m a “feeling based” person…so I listened to that track of Sol…and let the blue atmosphere enter deep inside me and “work” with the acupuncture treatments I just received this afternoon. Wow! I need this album on my Ipod…It could do miracles on me, no doubt.

  2. December 15, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I spent 5 years (1996-2001) listening to exclusively ambient music. I cut my teeth on early projects of Kim Cascone, Tim Hendricks and of course the mighty, mighty Mark Clifford (Seefeel).
    These guys took me back to the states I was in when ambient music was all I could hear because it’s all that made sense.
    Going to start a Facebook fan page if I can sit still long enough.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

