Home > Ambient, Chill out, Classical music, Electronica, My DJ mixes, Techno > DJ Tribute on the Mozart of Techno…

DJ Tribute on the Mozart of Techno…

Aphex Twin. Two words in itself that bears meaning. He’s been hailed as the Mozart of electronic music. Everything he touches from acid to techno, ambient, IDM, breakbeat, smooth electronica, downtempo, remixing pop groups such as Seefeel or St-Etienne turns to gold. His idiosyncratic sound has a lot jarring elements interacting with each other but they always seem to feature one singular and peculiar aspect underlying : melody…

As I dug deeper and deeper into his catalog, I found stuff on his Classics compilation released on R & S that were deeply hardcore but still featured a melody, or some material from RDJ album (1996) with breakbeats then à la mode and the childlike dreamy lullabies that have now became his trademark…So therefore, I wanted this tribute mix to be as thorough as possible but also more keen on melodies than noisy records such Caustic Window which I don’t really like…The way I approached AFX is the following : I followed my gut ! I had no idea how to mix his tracks since none follows a singular repetitive pattern nor a recognizable 4/4 signature. Everything in his discography is different and utterly insane. I just wanted to pay my respect to one of the greatest composers of all time, all music genres included, in my opinion. Genius is often close to madness and so is Richard. He is one of those artists which I cannot really describe into words. As a friend said to me : « it’s like aliens would be trying to speak to us human through music… » A complete mess of abstract beats and sounds. Have you ever seen the movie “2001: A Space Odyssey”? Remember the sound the monolith made ?  Maybe Aphex Twin is the righful composer that’s the closest to that…sound.

It’s an understatement to say the word genius in his case.

Richard D. James is unique. He builds and plays his own instruments, yet he has no training, whether technical or musical. If he doesn’t know something, he reads a manual. « The best musicians or sound-artists are people who never considered themselves to be artists or musicians,” he says. “I’m just some irritating, lying, ginger kid from Cornwall who should have been locked up in some youth detention centre. I just managed to escape and blag it into music. »

We’re so glad you managed to escape Richard !

Thanks !

As usual, you can stream or download. Full tracklisting here.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

